De Lille

Mayor of Cape Town

Patricia de Lille was elected as the Executive Mayor of Cape Town in 2011 and was re-elected for a second term in August 2016 with a two-thirds majority. Under her leadership, Cape Town has received close to 90 international awards including taking the top spot on the prestigious New York Times’ list of 52 Places to Go in 2014 and the winner of the 2015 C40 Cities Award for Adaptation. Cape Town was also awarded the World Design Capital for 2014. Under her direction, the City of Cape Town has expanded the MyCiTi Bus Rapid Transit System. By expanding quality, reliable and affordable transport to communities most in need, it has delivered basic services to millions of people, whilst also reducing carbon emissions. Cape Town recently became the first African city to use electric buses for it public transport system. Mayor De Lille currently serves as a board member of the Global Covenant of Mayors for Climate and Energy, Chairperson of the Global Parliament of Mayors, Vice-President of the World Energy Cities Partnership and a commissioner for the Global Commission on Economy and Climate. Mayor De Lille has served in all three spheres of government including as a Member of Parliament for 15 years. Former President Nelson Mandela described her as his favourite opposition politician.